What I Would Tell My 16 Year Old Bass Self

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by shadven, Aug 26, 2019.

1. shadven

shadven Twang-tastic Bass Player and Song Writer Supporting Member

Dec 30, 2009
    Tampa, FL
    I rock, therefore I am.
    I’ve been playing bass for 40 years. I’m not going to list my resume, but I’ve done some big shows, rubbed shoulders with household names, played on a ton of records that went nowhere. Local hero, plus. If I could go back in time and give 16 my year old self some bass / music career advise this is what I would say:

Sing! Become a strong lead singer and a stronger backup singer. Your singing chops will be just as important as your bass chops. Maybe more important. You will be expected to be a strong bass player, that’s a given.

Scales AND chords. These are the ingredients you need to create great bass lines. Play other instruments and get a decent grasp of music theory. Jazz is your friend, even if you are a rock, country, pop player.

Become a songwriter. Write at least one song month... good or bad, finish the song and write it down (record it if you can). Just keep writing.

Become a decent guitar player. You need guitar to communicate your ideas to your band and the world. You really have to be a half-decent guitar player.

Don’t stay in a band that doesn’t have ambition. Surround yourself with the best musicians that will have you. Artists and creatives can be eccentric and often push boundaries. Embrace your (and their) freak flag. Make musical alliances and play in one-off projects to widen your musical relationships. Don’t limit yourself to just one or two genres. Don’t be afraid of starting a band an being the band leader.