1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What is a bass solo in a jazz band supposed to sound like..

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MistaMarko, May 3, 2006.

1. MistaMarko

MistaMarko

Feb 3, 2006
    USA
    I'm going to a band competition tomorrow with the school jazz band, and we play a blues rock song, thats 12-bar blues setup, but sounds like a rock song. So there is a repeat section for solos, and I have one, and then after I go, the guitarist goes. I have never heard a jazz bass solo to a blues song or anything. I wrote one out and can play it like perfect, but I think it sounds too much like a guitar solo. Nothing below fret 15, lots of pull-off triplets and fast blues scales. I thought about doing a slap bass solo, but I'm not that good at slap. Anyone have any suggestions on what a solo ideally sounds like for a BASS? What would you guys do? (12 bar blues improvisation key of C.)

2. Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones Banned

Feb 28, 2001
    Northampton Mass
    Play Strong Phrases,leave Space, make musical sence and Play it with soul.It doesn't matter if you sound like a trumpet a guitar or a drummer, if you do that you'll do great!

AJ

3. TreeChild

TreeChild

Feb 28, 2005
    Wimberley, TX
    +1

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

Listen to the Masters - Paul Chambers, Ray Brown ,Ron Carter...etc. etc.

They've all played solos on Jazz recordings of Blues.

5. The BurgerMeister

The BurgerMeister musician.

Apr 13, 2006
    Big Bear, CA
    SING with your bass!!
    play nice melodies, rather than show-offy runs and $#%&.
    LISTEN to the tune, FEEL it...and play along....

all this being said, here's a quote from my mentor, the late Roy Hough:
    "it's YOUR solo. play what you want to play."