What is a Best Man supposed to do

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by embellisher, Aug 22, 2003.

1. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

My drummer is getting married next month, and has asked me to be his best man.

I have never done anything like this before.

Help me out here. What all is a best man supposed to do for the groom?

Thanks a lot!:)
  2. LoJoe

Sep 5, 2002
    Concord, NC USA.
    1. Coordinate a bachelor party that involves heavy drinking and strippers. (Take lots of pictures to give to his new bride!) :D

2. Stand up front with him in the ceromony and hand him the wedding ring to put on her finger at the appropriate time.

3. Make the toast to him and his bride at the reception.

4. If you are unattached, at the reception try to score with one of the bridesmaids. They will be anxious to get out of that UGLY dress!

At least that's the way I remember it when I had my turn at it several years ago! Good luck!
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

....and bump the Maid of Honor after the ceremony...if she's hot.

Least, that's how I do it. After all, you can always tell her you're the "BEST" man.
  4. NOT mess around with his soon to be wife or friends!
  5. thats cool. cause you know how drummers and bassists stay 'tight' in songs and stuff? heh. Well,first I'd make a kick-ass bachelor party;)(not necessarily strippers and stuff,but good food) Also...don't forgot/lose the ring! :)

And...just be the best, man:D

6. DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    Yeah bachelor party that is appropriate to the tastes of the groom (if my best man had hired skanky hoes..err "strippers" I would have been pretty pissed...he knows me though), help doing anything needed on wedding day, first toast at the rehearsal dinner, giving the checks from the groom to the pastor and anyone else he may be giving checks to (at the reception), vandalizing errr...I mean decorating the car...that's all I can think of.