What Is A Double Bass?!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by cb_sk8er, May 18, 2001.

1. cb_sk8er

cb_sk8er Guest

May 18, 2001
    Joice, IA.
    dude, I'm new to playing bass guitar. (I got it last week end) I have no clue what a doublele bass means?. I can play tabulature and all that, but I don't know the diff. Could SOMEBODY help me out?
  2. Dirty Road Cola

Dirty Road Cola Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Gainesville, FL
    a double bass is an upright bass (read: acoustic upright).
  3. :tosses rabbit into piranha tank:

4. lump

Jan 17, 2000
    St. Neots, UK
    Mmmmm...fresh meat...

Yo dude, don't let these guys mislead you. A doublele is a contrabass ukelele. You might want to run a search on Napster for "inytay ubblesbay" for a sample.

And as long as you've gotten a week of tab under your belt, I'd say you're pretty ready for a recording deal. How are your tats healing?

All in fun. Welcome to the board. :cool:

Wait a minute, did he say G*****?!?!?
  5. You know what the only problem with TB is?
    Every once and a while a thread will come up
    "Who is you favorite TalkBasser"
    "Who is so cool on TalkBass"
    "If you were to send flowers to a TalkBasser . . ."

"How about who is your favorite HARSH TalkBasser"
    I think people should get frequent burner miles.

Either way Lump you got my vote. :D:D
  6. lump

Jan 17, 2000
    St. Neots, UK
    Stop it, I'm blushing. We do seem to think alike, though.

7. Edgar

Nov 4, 2000
    Montreal, QC, CA
    No no no no no, Dirty Road Cola is all wrong...

A Double Bass is went you have two neck on one body. I'm sure you must have saw a picture of those before. It can be any kind of configuration; 4 strings and a fretless 4, 4 Strings and a 6 strings...You get the idea!
  8. And i thought it was when you played twice as fast!
  9. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY