1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What is a good first set of Flats?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by CharlieD, Jul 15, 2012.

1. CharlieD

CharlieD

Jul 15, 2012
    Wisconsin
    Hello everyone, this is my first thread here, so sorry if there is another thread for this.

I just built my first fretless from parts from a couple of old Yamaha's, and I need some strings for it. I've only ever played roundwounds, so I'm brand new to this whole fretless/flatwound way of doing things, and I don't want to mess up the fretboard. So basically I'm just wondering what is a good set to start with gauge wise, and brand wise. I usually play 45-105 ghs boomers on my fretted basses.

Thanks!:)

2. PlungerModerno

PlungerModerno

Apr 12, 2012
    Ireland
    I tried chromes first... for fretted, and liked them (.45 - 1.00). Tried Roto 77's (.45 - 1.05) very high tension, great tone but stiff and the 'bite' or edge fades rapidly. The chromes have kept their bright uppermiddy tone well. I'd recommend those.

Have a gander online, somebody with a fretless will chime in hopefully with relevant advice.

3. Shakin-Slim

Shakin-Slim

Jul 23, 2009
    Tokyo, Japan
    I play GHS Precision flats on my fretted P and my fretless J. They're really great flats, and they tend to be cheaper than many others (in NZ at least).

4. My first (and so far only) foray into flats are GHS Precision Flats. I love them so far. They give me an authentic old school thump and break in very nicely.

5. kreider204

kreider204

Nov 29, 2008
    D'Addario Chromes, but go one gauge lighter (the .040s) to compensate for the increased tension.

6. PlungerModerno

PlungerModerno

Apr 12, 2012
    Ireland
    +1. The 45-100 sets have tense D and G.