1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What is a good practicing regime for a beginning bassist???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by suitlandkid2005, Sep 23, 2008.

1. suitlandkid2005

suitlandkid2005

Sep 23, 2008
    What is a good practicing regime for a beginning bassist??? I have been playing for like 2 months. I play different scales and chords but it is like I am stuck in a rut and playing the same stuff over and over again. I am also teaching myself to learn theory. I teach myself to play bass with books and dvds because I can't afford a teacher at the moment. So what is a good practicing regime I could follow daily? My goal is to play with a band. I jam with a friend who plays guitar and he has been playing for a while but we sometimes get stumped on what to play together. I feel it because I do not have much knowledge. I feel that I need to get at improvising which I am not. So any suggestions?

2. Sarbecue Boss

Sarbecue Boss

Jul 9, 2006
    Do you have a metronome? If not, then I would suggest going out and buying one(less than 20$) and playing the scales and different things you know with the metronome at a very comfortable tempo. Another thing I would suggest is to try and pick out different simple lines in songs you like and learn them by ear.

3. mutedeity

mutedeity

Aug 27, 2007
    Sydney
    A good regime is to practice more rather than less.