1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What Is a Witness Point and How Do I "Set" It?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by selowitch, Aug 12, 2012.

1. selowitch

selowitch Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2005
    Rockville MD
    I gather that "witness points" are bends in the string at the tuning post, nut, and saddle, but as far as I have even known, they occur whenever you add new strings without doing anything special. Seems to me the witness points establish themselves in the course of stringing up your instrument, is that right? Or do you have to consciously bend/stretch the strings at those points?

Personally, I've never heard of a witness point except here on these forums, and I've been playing for almost 30 years. That doesn't mean, of course, that they don't exist; it probably means there's a gap in my knowledge.

Pbassmanca likes this.
  2. GK Growl

GK Growl Banned

Dec 31, 2011
    You are correct in your descriptions of witness points. Setting them involves pushing the strings down in front of them (in the speaking length of the string) to stress relieve the string. This helps greatly with establishing more accurate intonation and in my experience with roundwound strings, it helps vibration and brightness.

3. selowitch

Aug 6, 2005
    Rockville MD
    Okay, so I know I'm on the right track. What's the procedure, step-by-step? Is it somewhere in these forums, perhaps?

Pbassmanca likes this.
  4. GK Growl

GK Growl Banned

Dec 31, 2011
    Witness point number 1: The nut.

Take your thumb and press the string down on the 1st fret side of the nut. Do not press so hard that the string contacts the fingerboard but hard enough to stress relieve the string. Repeat with all strings.

Witness point number 2: The bridge.