what is "it"

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Aug 10, 2001.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I don't know if this is the appropriate place for this question or if the question even makes sense but here goes.
    So when it comes to playing bass (or any instrument, really) is there such a thing as 'it' - as in: Some people are born with it and some people aren't. (or) With a lot of hard work some people, in good time will get it - others will probably never get it.
    Is it possible to say that if someone can't play (whatever would be appropriate) by the time that they have been playing for (appropriate period of time to learn above mentioned whatever)that they should just hang it up. I know this sounds like I'm incredibly insecure, but that is only because I am. I have been playing for six months and I do really suck, but here is my plan, tell me if I'm nuts - I figure that since I have no background playing any instrument, no natural rythem, no ear (well I have both ears but you know what I mean) I have been considered generally uncoordinated my whole life - But I figure that if I want to learn to play well and I work very hard I will one day be the Larry Bird of bass.
  2. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    i want to be the Michael Jordan of Bass :D
  3. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    :eek: i will make that my next signature, thanks for the inspiration!
  4. ASR

Apr 2, 2001
    Houston, Texas
    I think some people are born with abilities that others have to work hard to get. Under no circumstances should you give up, though. Trust me, I have played bass for nearly 2 years, guitar for 11 years, trombone for 13 years, and the kazoo for 20 years, and I suck at all of them. I'm not going to give up, though. It may take you longer to learn something than it takes JT, and you may have to work harder to learn it, but in the end, if you learn it, he is no better than you.