Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What is the BEST 5 stringer ever?!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by thebassmuchacho, May 28, 2004.

1. Ive always wanted to stick to a 4, but i realize that nowadays that low 5 is getting more and more popular. Now i find that the 4 string is limiting things for me(ie. theres lots of 5 string written music at my college). What is the best type of 5 string to get? It cant be way to expensive(2000 max?), since im a college student, and i want a good amount of string space between the strings for slapping and such. Any ideas fellas?

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Saying 'the best' is quite subjective. Each person likes different things. I would definitely suggest the Warwick thumb 5 string. Probably my favorite 5 string that ive played on. Wide string spacing, is great for slapping.

3. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    Yup it's mine!
    :smug:

Actually Figjam nailed it with the subjective thing.

as always, search, read, play, repeat

:bassist:

4. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

You're looking for a simple answer to a very complex question. That's somewhat understandable, but the bottom line is that only you know what's best for you.

That aside: Fender Roscoe Beck 5. :p

5. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    What he said :D

The best advice I can give you is to get out and play as many 5's as you can and let your heart, ears, and hands decide for you. Don't even look at the name on the headstock. You will likely be surprised by what you discover about your tastes and choices.

Dan

6. Josh Curry

Josh Curry

May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    what's the price range?