1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What is the best combo amp under $400?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Famous927, Aug 19, 2012.

1. Famous927

Famous927

Jul 26, 2012
    I've been playing bass for around 9 months now and I'm still using the little 200 dollar Peavey i got when i first started. I'm looking to get a bigger amp because me and my buddy are starting to play bigger venues. Any suggestions on what i should get?

2. TC BG250

J

3. A bigger Peavey combo....should easily spend less than $400 on a used one.

4. purfektstranger

purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003
    Canada
    Markbass, ampeg, peavey, ashdown and the list goes on. My personal favorites are Markbass and Ampeg.

5. Plucky The Bassist

Plucky The Bassist ZOMG! I'm back from the dead! Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2010
    Houston, TX
    Let me preface the following comment by saying that I actually disliked the Peavey VB2 when I owned it....

With that in mind, I can say that I've been thoroughly impressed by Peavey combos. Even my MAXBASS 1x10 combo sounded great to my ears. Normally I'm not a fan of Peavey stuff, but I've had good experiences with their combos. I would recommend AGAINST getting a combo, since a head/cab rig would be more flexible, but if you are stuck on getting a combo then the Peaveys aren't that bad at all.

There are a ton out there though, if you don't dig the Peavey you could always try a Carvin, Fender, Ampeg, or countless other combos.

6. Famous927

Famous927

Jul 26, 2012
    Yea the people i play with all tell me(because im fairly new to music) that the best way to make a peavey sound good is take the peavey decal off. lol and yes i am stuck with combo amps at this particular point in time.