Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What is the purpose of a 3/4 size bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Sound Guy Paul, Apr 19, 2001.

1. I have been looking at uprights for a long time and have finnaly come to the decision to buy one. One big thing I have been noticing is the 3/4 size bass. What I was wondering was what does that mean? Is that something for beginners? or just for short people? if thats the reason I am not a short people. I am 6'3 so I think I would need something bigger than that. I have been playing Electric Fretless for two years, so I believe that the adjustment wont be too bad. I hope......

2. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    3/4 size is the norm usually with a 41.5" (or so)string length. If you can take a lesson or three before you go shopping and get someone to show you how to hold it, some fingering basics and mechanical things to look for in an instrument it will be well worth yer while.

3. 3/4 is by far the most used size bass (read RESALE VALUE).
    It has nothing to do with sound volume, and everything to do with string length, i.e., the distance between note positions.
    You don't "need" a bigger bass any more than you "need" a dorsal fin.
    Two of my basses are 7/8, but being hand made, i.e. not according to a cookie cutter formula, happen to have string lengths appropriate to a 3/4. Otherwise, I might well have passed them up.
    And don't even think of a full size bass, unless you want your very own albatross. No one will ever buy it from you. You can't lose with a 3/4

4. dbradford

dbradford

May 7, 2001
    Cary, NC