1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

what is the value of a 74 jazz?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 7thbass, Apr 14, 2006.

1. 7thbass

7thbass

Nov 21, 2003
    Houston, Tx
    Looking at a fretless 74 jazz.

Truss rod has been replaced, new ebony lined fingerboard has been installed.
    Has aftermarket basslines stack jazz pickups with preamp (coil tap, etc).

Not sure if re-finished, but probably was at some point.

The truss rod thing scares me a bit. I have no experience with those kinds of repairs and what effect they have over the long term.

Too many fleas on the dog? I can't play it before I buy it, but will be able to return if problem. Have been told neck straight and true.

Any thoughts?

2. Not much on the collectors market. If it plays well, go for it, but make sure he doesn't charge more than he should. Since you can't try it... I'd probably stay away, unless he's giving you a great deal.

3. BassikLee

BassikLee Commercial User

Feb 13, 2004
    Deltona, FL
    Owner: Brevard Sound Systems
    If it were a clean, stock '74, I'd think somewhere north of a grand, but south of say two grand would be in order. That said, while a replaced trussrod is a "repair", a new fingerboard is a deal killing mod, IMHO. Pickups, you can find '74s and replace the duncans should you so desire. There is practically no way to make that neck back into a Fender. I'd say if it plays well, sounds good, etc, I'd offer no more than any other "parts bass" would be worth. You know, Sadowsky, Lull, all those thrown together axes.... KIDDING. What I mean is a warmoth jazz, no builder branding at all. The fact that it is a Fender body (we think) MIGHT make it worth more, but not to me.

Clear as mud??

4. 7thbass

7thbass

Nov 21, 2003
    Houston, Tx
    ?!

5. steve21

steve21 Banned