1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What is this bass made out of?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by el_Bajo_Verde, Dec 2, 2017.

1. el_Bajo_Verde

el_Bajo_Verde

May 18, 2016
    USA
    It's an ESP LTD B5-JR. I know it's a cheap bass, but I've never seen this before on a bass. It looks like the whole bass has these ridges in it. You can see it in the reflection. There are also some paint bubbles on the back. Look at how the light reflects off the body of the bass.

ZVP5fSJ.

0yAS0R4.

iHHb0bq.

2. chip of a piece and send it to 23 and me, they'll figure it out for you

3. CGremlin

CGremlin Supporting Member

Nov 1, 2014
    The grain looks to me like ash, but I'm no expert. The bubbles look kinda like holes that were drilled and (not very well) filled before painting. I'm sure someone that knows more about wood will chime in.

mcnach likes this.
  4. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Commercial User

Feb 4, 2011
    Fillmore, CA
    Professional Luthier
    It's made of wood. I can't say the exact species, but it's some Indonesian equivalent of alder. Those ridges are the result of cutting corners on the finishing process. The body was rapidly sanded with a large mop-style sander, pushing too hard, which results in those lines and ripples forming in the wood surface. Then a thin fast IR curing polyester finish was put on with no sealer or base coat sanding. Over a little time, the finish has sunken down in, making the ridges even more visible. It's a low budget finishing job that's aged.

The bubbles are fill spots. There were some small dents or holes in the wood. They squirted some wood putty in them, before going over it with the mop sander and shooting on the poly. And that's what it looks like after some time.

Last edited: Dec 3, 2017
    DrayMiles, Ellery, MrLenny1 and 10 others like this.
  5. dxb

dxb

Dec 25, 2016