1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What Is Your Approach to Soloing?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by mattfong, Mar 17, 2008.

1. mattfong

mattfong

Jan 14, 2008
    Toronto, Canada
    Hello,

I'm fairly new to jazz, and I need to work on my soloing. It's going decently, but I was just wondering what sort of approach you take towards it.

For example, do you think of each scale/mode that can be used on each chord? Or do you think of the bigger picture of the root scale, then start in different places depending on which chord you're on (therefore indirectly using the modes)? Something else perhaps? Obviously feel is a big part, but I'm talking more the technical aspects right now.

So far, I do a little bit of both the things I mentioned, and they seem to work out alright, but I'm having difficulties with a fairly uptempo bop tune that has a few key changes and a lot of different chords. Any tips? :help:

By the way, the tune is based on the changes to 'It's You Or No One", in F.

Thanks!:)

2. Play melodies.

3. Adam Booker

Adam Booker Supporting Member

May 3, 2007
    Boone, NC
    Endorsing Artist: D'Addario Strings, Remic Microphones
    Don't be afraid of the funny notes. Just play.

4. dmperry24

dmperry24

Dec 11, 2006
    Stamford, CT
    Joe Pass used to say he thought in terms of the general chord sounds. He simplified his thinking to is it major, minor, seventh or dimished/augmented. He then used those scales plus some "Blue Notes" to work his magic. That's the way I like to go myself, but then I don't improvise very much on the bass except in a jam session type of environment.
    Mike

5. uprightben

uprightben

Nov 3, 2006
    Boone, NC
    "play melodies"
    +1