What is your one piece of advice to a new player?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Grumry, Sep 30, 2016.

1. Grumry

Grumry

Jul 6, 2016
    Nashville
    I've been playing guitar and bass on and off for over 10 years but never had any formal training. I can play by ear pretty well and do some limited improvisation but I never learned a million cover songs, I didn't learn my scales, I know little to no theory.

But, now that I've been able to play more this past year, I don't know how to spend my time playing. I'm finally learning the number system and trying to memorize the notes of each key and run through those over and over. I went back and replayed the 30 or so old covers I used to know from highschool.

I feel like the best musicians I've been around are the players that know an insane number of covers, across several genres. Should I just sit down and grind out songs?

Having said all that, I want to forget what I think I know about how to play and start from the beginning.

What's the single best piece of advice for an aspiring musician/bassist?

2. Jloch86

Jloch86

Aug 1, 2016
    If you don't feel it, don't play it.

In music, everything you learn comes from wanting to elicit an emotional response. Not all musicians know theory, but every single musician plays because it makes them feel good.

DanMax, joe#, Okstatefan and 9 others like this.
  3. Grumry

Grumry

Jul 6, 2016
    Nashville
    I made a playlist of like 20 songs I really enjoy listening to, from CCR to Allman Brothers, but when I sat down to learn them, I couldn't get into it. It's not that they were difficult, it just seemed like I was forcing it. I learned about 5 of them in a day or two but since then I haven't had the urge to play them again.

I think I need to play with other people again, it's been a very long time and I believe the human element adds something that playing along to spotify can't bring to the table.

GManfromOz, viper4000 and Pudge Fish like this.