1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What it the difference between passive and active bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sevortz, Mar 27, 2010.

1. sevortz

sevortz

Mar 10, 2010
    First, im a noob :bawl: so i ask this question.
    So i have Fender Precision Standard MIM passive and LTD EX-104 which is active. But i like the fender better, i dont know why it fits to me better.
    So anyone knows the difference between active and passive bass?
    And if an amp has a label high and low, and where the passive bass and the active bass goes in? hahaha im a noob, sorry guys

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I did a search. Found numerous threads on this topic. Passive, no battery. Active, battery. Active has a powered preamp that allows you to have more EQ controls on your bass. Active input on your amp has a dB damper or a quieter level to compensate for the usually louder active preamp/bass. Passive input on the amp does not. I'm a noob too, so there will be better definitions. Search passive vs active.

3. Kipaste

Kipaste

Jun 27, 2006
    Helsinki, Finland
    Active basses usually have a on board preamp with eq. controls. Active pickups also excist, they have electronic, amplifying circuitry incorporated in them.

Passive basses have passive pickups with passive tone control.

This thing has been discussed over and over here, so I won't go into details. Just use the search if you wan't to read more, you'll probably get hundreds of topics.