1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What kind of band am I in?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by TSkills, Apr 29, 2010.

1. TSkills

TSkills

Jul 1, 2009
    So I've been playing for about a year and a half now (mostly self taught but with a few lessons too) and I feel like the time is right to join a band. But what kind of band should I join?
    I like to listen to pretty much all types of music, from metal to jazz to classic rock to funk...and I love to play all styles. So how do I know what type of band I should look to join? Or what style if I decide to create my own group...

2. Metal.

3. FuzzAddict

FuzzAddict

Oct 30, 2009
    That about sums it up. Metal. You can take everything you learned and make your mark on a metal band. That's what I did. But if it's not your thing, don't bother, don't let anything hold you back from expressing yourself.

4. somegeezer

somegeezer

Oct 1, 2009
    England
    The above comment isn't all that bad. All those styles actually come in really handy in Metal. I fyou really are into Jazz you might wanna look at some Progressive Metal. If more into the Funk then maybe have a look at some Rage Against The Machine kinda thing. Just mix and match to make it suit you.

5. Fetusyolk

Fetusyolk

Aug 7, 2008
    whichever band you can get into. you can't afford to be picky at this stage

6. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville
    Base the band on "A" preference and one that fits the abilities of the musicians you can surround yourself with. Trying to merge to many things will make it tough to find other musicians, and even tougher to find a fan base. Initially you cannot be picky. It's better to do something than it is nothing.

IMHO.

7. baalroo

baalroo

Mar 24, 2008
    Wichita, KS