What kind of bass should I buy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fhqwhgads, Jul 7, 2004.

1. fhqwhgads

Jul 7, 2004
    Well here's the dealio. I've been playing guitar for several years now. When it came to my attention that my chuch's best bass player would be leaving this summer, someone had to learn bass. I decided it was somewhat logical for me to take this step. Now, i need to buy a bass. Personally i would prefer a 5 string although with price limitations this may be a tad bit unrealistic. as far as style, i like natural wood finish. Active pickups would be nice. I don't have much money so any suggestions would be appreciated. p.s. i really like godin's, but im not sure i can afford one, anything used in the alberta region is nice. Well thanks alot guys.
  2. Knightbass

Jun 19, 2004
    look at a Spector NS-2000/4. Active (can be converted to 18volts very easily), neckthrough, graphite rods, looks great, plays great, sounds great IMO.
  3. dangnewt

dangnewt Veteran Dispenser

Jun 6, 2003
    MetroWest Boston
    You are doing a noble thing (I did basically the same thing last year). Turns out that bass suited me better than guitar.

As far as bass recommendations go - a couple of suggestions:

1. Be sure to search - there are some interesting threads about good values at various price points.

2. 5-string is probably a good decision as a lot of contemporay praise music and old-time gospel goes that low.

3. What is your price range?

4. Would you consider mail order? There is a lot of support for the SX and Brice brands sold by Rondo Music.

5. If you like slim necks - there may be Peavey USA Millenniums (active electronics) out there used. In the US they run around $500 when you see them in stores or on ebay. You may not be able to find the finish you want tho'.
    This is what I play and if you want a slim neck and active electronics there is not a better value out there.

6. Did you post in the Basses Wanted forum or search the Basses for sale?