What kind of bass should I buy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassplay3r, Aug 24, 2005.

1. bassplay3r

Aug 24, 2005
    I'm going to buy a bass and I'm not quite sure what to look for. What kinds of features should I look for? I want a a nice bass, but I don't want alot of features I don't really need. What is an apropriate price range. I was thinking about a btb-300.

I'm new to this, so any input would be great.
  2. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Well man. I'd search the net and local music stores to something that feels good to you. Even if you've never played before, check the weight, how it sits on your lap etc etc. if this is how you're going to buy a bass, bring someone who does play bass, and let them give it a go. If you don't find what you like, you might even find a good quality bass on the 'bay (e-bay that is).

IMO, I wouldn't buy a "starter" bass. Spend the little extra money on something that will last you. And if it ends up that you don't like the bass (God Fobid) then, with a name brand (Such a Fender) you will be able to sell it easier than if you had a Renegade for example.

Also, Welcome to TB! If you have any questions, feel free to ask! Everyone here is VERY helpful.
    Have fun, and keep shakin the floors,

Mark Wilson
  3. QU!CK

Apr 26, 2005
    Charlotte, NC
    What genre(s) of music will you be playing? BTW, welcome to Talk Bass! :)

4. bassplay3r

Aug 24, 2005
    I'm not sure if I am into a specific genre, but I am inspired by groups such as The Offspring, 311, Sublime and The Red Hot Chilli Peppers. I currently have an Ibenez that came in a starter kit. So I'm ready to get a new one.
  5. ebladeboi123

Jul 11, 2005
    Oberlin, Oh
    A good one ;)

I reconmend picking up a Geddy Lee Jazz, they seem to be nice, and not to bad on the wallet. An american fender P would be nice as well.