What kind of cable do I need to connect a cab to a combo??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MTD21, Jan 14, 2004.

1. MTD21

Jan 14, 2004
    Hey all, I'm relatively new to the whole connecting a cabinet to a combo amp. My question is what kind of cable do I need to connect the cabinet to the combo amp?? Any help would be appreciated...:meh:
  2. Hi, to answer your question some more information is needed.
    1) Not all Combo's are able to connect to a cabinet. Check the back of the combo or better the manual...
    2) Then check the plugs used on the combo as well as the cabinet. I think in most cases a 6mm Jack is used. But is also could be a speakon, XLR or banana plugs.
    3) Buy a speaker cable with the required plugs at both ends. :) ...

Please note that a speaker cable is something different then the cable you use to connect your bass to the amp. The gauge of a speaker cable is much thicker as it has to transport higher currents. Use a gauge of 2,5mm2. Also keep it as short as possible.
  3. MTD21

Jan 14, 2004
    I'm using a CRATE BX100 and I want to connect a Gallien-Krueger Backline 410BLX 4x10 cabinet to it.
  4. MTD21

Jan 14, 2004
    here are the product specs of my CRATE

Output Power Rating: 100 watts RMS @ 1% THD, 4 ohms 120 VAC

Speaker Size and Rating: (1) Crate Custom Design 15", 150 watts, 2" voice coil

Graphic EQ: 24dB range @ 50Hz, 100Hz, 225Hz, 625Hz, 1.6kHz, 4kHz, 8kHz, 16kHz

Input Impedance: 200k ohms

Maximum Signal Accepted: 15 volts peak to peak

Gain: 65dB w/EQ flat, contour off @ 1kHz

Line Output Jack: 2 volts peak to peak @ full rated power

Balanced Line Out Jack: 2 volts peak to peak @ full rated power w/600 ohm load

Signal to Noise: 65dB below full power, tones flat, contour off, gain and level @ 10

Power Requirements: 120VAC, 60Hz, 115VA; 110/115VAC, 50/60Hz, 115VA; 230VAC, 50/60Hz, 115VA

Size and Weight: 25"H x 20.75"W x 15.75"D, 67 lbs

and here are the specs of the cab I want

8 ohms
    400 Watts