Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What kind of head do I need?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 84Bruiser, Sep 21, 2004.

1. 84Bruiser

84Bruiser

Sep 21, 2004
    I'm a noob to the forum, and am looking for advice.

I play an older EB Stingray5, and I have a huge Ampeg cabinet. It's an older ISO-Vent cab with 2 15s, and 2 10s.

I've heard good things about the SWR line, and I think for the 600W cab, the 550X is plenty, and since I can't find them used, I'm guessing people like them.

Anybody else heard of / use the Iso-vent style cab? any thougts on good heads?

Lemme know,
    '84

2. Hollow Man

Hollow Man Supporting Member

Apr 28, 2003
    Springfield, VA
    What kind of stuff are you looking to play?

Everyone's tastes vary, but I'm not a big fan of SWR. I don't think they have nearly the low end response of other manufacturers, but then again, several prominent rock musicians use them. Also, how much can you afford? SWR isn't bad for the money, but I would (and did) put in the extra cash for something nicer that you won't replace in six months.

3. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA
    I agree with Hollowman, SWR is not for everybody. That being said, I love the SWR tone. It is a definite try before you buy type of brand though.

4. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    i always wanted to try one of the iso vent cabs - that's te one where the 2 15's face each other and are "isobaricly loaded" right?