Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What kind of wood is this?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tihi, Jan 26, 2006.

1. Hi there!

I presume this is ASH, but can't tell wich type.
    the weight of the body is 5lbs. 9 oz.

Thanks!

2. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    Ash is ash...When you see describers like 'swamp' or 'northern' its not necessarily a scientific definition as much as a marketing describer. Swamp ash is usually used to describe ash that is lighter...

3. I'm no expert, but I think that heavier and lighter wood do also have different tonal characteristics.
    Thanks!

4. Cliff Bordwell

Cliff Bordwell Commercial User

Jan 6, 2004
    USA , Orlando , Florida
    Owner of CB BASSES
    From that picture and the fact that it is a "Fender" shape
    I would say that it is Alder.

5. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine
    +1, and yeah, that's ash.

6. Marcus Willett

Marcus Willett Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2005
    Palm Bay, FL
    Endorsing Artist: Bag End - Dean Markley - Thunderfunk
    What I have been told, and my understanding is that "swamp" ash is in fact the same species as "regular" hard ash, fraxinus americana. What makes it "swamp" ash, is when that tree is growing in....well, swampy areas. Or more to the point; a portion of the tree is under water. This causes the sap in the part of the tree that is submerged to either leech out entirely or be diluted. The result being that when the wood is dried, it is structurally the same as hard ash but lighter.

You can get some pretty friggin' light swamp ash bodies if you want. I bought a 5 string J body from Warmoth in swamp ash that came in at 3lbs, 6oz.