what makes a bass sound generic

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lanzealot, Oct 23, 2005.

1. I've read some threads and reviews all over the internet that says this particular bass sounds generic and all that... (particularly, most of them says that to Carvin basses).

How do you know a bass sounds generic? What makes it sound that way? I haven't really played a lot of bass and I'm still actually starting to learn how to play the instrument.

I know that it depends upon the preference of the player but then as a beginner, I'm still exploring on what kind of preference I want to in a bass guitar.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, guys!
  2. Unchain

Unchain I've seen footage.

Jun 20, 2005
    Tucson, AZ
    Every thing sounds generic to me, in a specific sort of way.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Terms like generic mean nothing in a musical instrument sense. Just look for a bass that makes you want to play it and all is well.
  4. bass-shy

Jan 11, 2005
    IMO and IME, the player is what makes a particular bass sound generic. I have heard people play $3000.00 basses that sounded lifeless and I have heard people make $200.00 basses sound fantastic. It is really in the hands and ears of the beholder. My advice to you is to play as many basses as you can, in every price range, and decide what works best for you. Also, there is nothing wrong with Carvin basses, they just aren't for everyone. Actually, NO bass is right for EVERYONE. Good luck.
  5. purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003
    Don't believe the hype. Get the best sounding and playing bass you can afford and take care of it. You can't go wrong.
  6. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Generic bass playing.
  7. +1.

I don't think anything could potentially be more generic than a Fender P bass......and yet there's so many people doing very amazing things on them.
  8. Shearstown