1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What method do you use to "chart out" songs?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tbirdsp, Apr 2, 2013.

1. tbirdsp

tbirdsp

Sep 18, 2012
    Omaha, NE
    I've been playing for many years, but have always just learned parts by ear and relied on my memory. Now I'm in one band and possibly joining a second, plus looking at some sub gigs. I'm really thinking I need to come up with my own "fake book". I mostly mean charting out the structure (and maybe the basic chords) of the song, not so much tabbing the licks (or using regular musical notation). What methods do others use? Examples would be great.

2. hennessybass

hennessybass Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2008
    Houston, TX
    I mostly use cheat sheets... my own personal language (numbers or letters) that help me get thur a song... but if I gave that sheet to someone else, they might not be able to make sense of it. Might just be one phrase, or a tough bridge in the song that I need to make notes for.

A chart, to me, indicates the entire song written out, with some indication of time, form, structure, etc. Usually with numbers (I'm in TX, so lot's of country). To me, the point of a chart is that anyone should easily be able to read and understand the chart and play the whole song... so we are talking about sight reading, without really having to read music.

Not sure how familiar you are with the number system, but it it nice to know... 1 4 5 in the key of G is G C D. In the Key of A is A D E, etc... If you have numbers, it's easier to play in any key.

A chart might look like this...
    Verse
    1 4 1 5
    1 4 1(4) 5
    Chorus
    5 5m 4 1
    Verse 2
    Chorus
    Solo = Verse
    Verse 3
    Chorus