1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What more is there to learn?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Crazyfist, Aug 24, 2012.

1. Crazyfist

Crazyfist

Sep 26, 2011
    I have been reading through the methods of practicing that people have posted on here and they are great! Especially Scott Devine's video lesson on "The most important lesson I ever teach", it's truly inspirational!!

But with this new found inspiration in my fingertips, I just don't know what to play! It's so obvious that there is more to music than simply a major or minor scale, but where do I start?!

In case you are interested, I've been playing for just over 2 years and I am about to start a BTEC level 3 in playing bass.

I am aware that I will be taught a lot of new things, but for now I'd just like to know for sure that there's a little more to it than just mastering going up and down the fretboard in C Major!

Thanks in advance!! :D

2. funkybass

funkybass

Oct 19, 2006
    Indiana
    I'd reccomend finding a good teacher to guide you,

3. kevteop

kevteop

Feb 12, 2008
    York, UK
    Play what you want. If you get to the level where you can play what you want, then you had better hope you started out with a quality imagination and good taste. ;)

If playing what you want doesn't sound like a worthwhile goal then you're in the wrong game - go do A Levels instead!

4. Crazyfist

Crazyfist

Sep 26, 2011
    I have had a few teachers in the past, and I'll be getting bass lessons for free when I start my college course (you can't go wrong with that!) but just for now I'd like to know what more there is to it, something a bit different from the usual major and minor scale... ANYTHING!?! :D