Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What Neck Is More Tougher To Climate Change?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by B'Aces High, Dec 2, 2003.

1. Alright, i just searched through all the Neck Thru/Bolt-On debates and couldnt find my awnser.

My Exact question being which of the two types of necks are more tougher to climate changes? Or Should be?
    The reason i asked this today is because i have a major heat problem in my apartment. I noticed today that there is slight curve in 3 of my Fenders necks, but i am not very good with all that technical stuff so i dunno if its my eyes being funny. Thank goodness my RIC looks normal and still straight as an arrow.
    Just to let you know i have no control over the heat(Its set to burn the a$$ off Satan himself) and when i say heat...i mean dang HEAT! It gets VERY hot in here. Its not a humidity problem either..its just straight dry heat...i have my windows open and my fan blasting and it aint helping much.

So am i imagining things or are neck thrus tougher than bolt ons? And does anyone have any ideas what i can do to possibly save my Fenders? (short of moving)
    Thanks.

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    You're in Canada and it's hot? Right now? :confused:

Get a composite-grapite neck if it's really that bad.

3. Thats what im talking about, im in Northern Ontario and its -25 degrees outside right now and i have the windows open and the fan on...and im still sweating my keester off!

'Edit' Btw do you mean like a Modulus bass? Is Graphite supposed to be less movable?

4. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
    I think that you do have a humidity problem. Necks can warp if there is a change in temperature, or a change in humidity.