1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

what pedal?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Fishbrain, Dec 15, 2000.

1. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    I am in a band and I have been playing bass for about 6 months. I wants to get the effects like in Red Hot Chile peppers and other ones like that.

I don't wanna be spending loads on my first pedal, any ideas what i should get?

2. VictorLeMonteWooten

VictorLeMonteWooten

Dec 6, 2000
    Well, bands use many different pedals, try to indentify a song or something if you want to know what effect is being used. SPECIFY.

It doesn't sound like you know much about pedals so here are the names of a few:
    flanger
    distortion
    wah wah
    chorus
    overdrive
    volume pedal
    phase shifter
    reverb
    digital delay
    talk box
    many different simulators

i could go on forever, so i have to say "do the research yourself"

3. Yertle The Turtle

Yertle The Turtle

Nov 15, 2000
    Flea's effects are:

1.Electro-Harmonix Q-Tron enveloppe filter (he previously used a DOD EF but they have this massive spike on bass)
    2.Jim Dunlop 105Q Bass Wah
    3.Boss ODB-3 Bass Distortion
    4,Something that is either a booster pedal or a phaser/flanger mixed thing.

4. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Thanx, I've heard of most of them, wah wah distortion and the common ones like that.

I don't know if you've heard Sir Pysco Sexy? But its like in that. I think its a synthesiser but could you tell me like a name of a pedal please?

Thanx

5. 6-stringer

6-stringer Guest

Feb 5, 2000
    Roanoke,VA
    Flea uses a korg g-5 synth on sir psyco

6. Deano Destructo

Deano Destructo Music Man/Upton addict. Hasn't slept since 1979. Supporting Member