Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

what pedal?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Fishbrain, Dec 15, 2000.

1. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    I am in a band and I have been playing bass for about 6 months. I wants to get the effects like in Red Hot Chile peppers and other ones like that.

I don't wanna be spending loads on my first pedal, any ideas what i should get?

2. VictorLeMonteWooten

VictorLeMonteWooten

Dec 6, 2000
    Well, bands use many different pedals, try to indentify a song or something if you want to know what effect is being used. SPECIFY.

It doesn't sound like you know much about pedals so here are the names of a few:
    flanger
    distortion
    wah wah
    chorus
    overdrive
    volume pedal
    phase shifter
    reverb
    digital delay
    talk box
    many different simulators

i could go on forever, so i have to say "do the research yourself"

3. Yertle The Turtle

Yertle The Turtle

Nov 15, 2000
    Flea's effects are:

1.Electro-Harmonix Q-Tron enveloppe filter (he previously used a DOD EF but they have this massive spike on bass)
    2.Jim Dunlop 105Q Bass Wah
    3.Boss ODB-3 Bass Distortion
    4,Something that is either a booster pedal or a phaser/flanger mixed thing.

4. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Thanx, I've heard of most of them, wah wah distortion and the common ones like that.

I don't know if you've heard Sir Pysco Sexy? But its like in that. I think its a synthesiser but could you tell me like a name of a pedal please?

Thanx

5. 6-stringer

6-stringer Guest

Feb 5, 2000
    Roanoke,VA
    Flea uses a korg g-5 synth on sir psyco

6. Deano Destructo

Deano Destructo Music Man/Upton addict. Hasn't slept since 1979. Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2000
    Austin, TX