1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What pedals should i get?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Lauri Lahtinen, Sep 2, 2020.

1. Lauri Lahtinen

Lauri Lahtinen

Sep 1, 2020
    Hi, i am a 16 yr bassist from Finland. I have just discovered the world of pedals and i would really like to start building a pedalboard of some sorts for myself. Do you have any recommendations? Whats absolutely a must have? I really like boss pedals, but thats probably because its the only brand ive tried (ive got a OC-2).
    Thanks in advanced, Lauri

Meaculpa likes this.
  2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Welcome to TalkBass!!!!

What kinds of music do you play? What kinds of sounds/tones do you need?

3. Lauri Lahtinen

Lauri Lahtinen

Sep 1, 2020
    Mostly rock, maybe (if forced) pop and some times some funk.

4. jbhaugh

jbhaugh Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2018
    ABQ, NM, USA
    I know it might be tempting to just try to get one of every kind of effect, but if you do that you will end up spending a lot of money on pedals you won't ever use. OC-2 is a good start. If you like synthy bass sounds, maybe look into getting a fuzz pedal, an envelope filter, and a chorus pedal, as those 3 effects can combine well to give nice bass synth sounds. It all depends on what kind of sounds you are trying to achieve.

Nobis17 and gh0st42 like this.
  5. gh0st42

gh0st42 Supporting Member

Oct 25, 2019
    Colorado
    We live in an amazing time, for number of incredible bass specific pedals.

In general, the following are good versatile pedals to start with, but of course will depend on your style, equipment, and what you are shooting for:

Compressor
    Overdrive,Distortion, or Fuzz - Depending on how "Dirty or Heavy" you are going for.