What pickups should I get?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Bass Muffin, Jul 19, 2019.

1. Bass Muffin

Bass Muffin

Jul 19, 2019
    Greetings TalkBass,

I'm a new bassist, about a month in, and since the first week I've been desiring a specific tone. I can't reference any existing bassist's tones, since I don't know much of them, but I know I am looking for a burpy, aggressive, deep tone. I currently own an esp B-206 with stock pickups, preamp, and La Bella Gold White tapewounds. Enjoying it but I'm looking to change the pickups and possible the tramp if necessary. As far as Pickups, I've been recommended the ADX6 pickups. From the demos I've listened to of basses using those pickups, the tone is definitely closer to what I'm searching for vs. what I have now. But I want to see what other options could possibly fit what I'm looking for. To the bassist's here with more experience: what should I look into as far as Pickups/preamps? I'm willing to take my bass to a shop to have it fitted for larger electronics that it currently accepts if necessary. Thanks in advance!

2. ctmullins

ctmullins Dominated Gold Supporting Member

Apr 18, 2008
    MS Gulf Coast
    I'm highly opinionated and extremely self-assured
    It’s hard to put tone into words, but you might like the EMG DC or the Delano SBC. The EMGs are active, so they won’t work without a battery, but the Delanos are passive, so they can be used with or without a preamp.

Also perhaps the Lace Bassbar.

3. sikamikanico

sikamikanico

Mar 17, 2004
    My suggestion: keep playing, keep tweaking, keep listening, and keep reading.

You need to develop your fingers and your ears, see what you can pull out of the bass as is. Pay attention to how it responds to your technique (how hard or soft you play, where you pluck, what part of the finger you use, etc). Tweak those knobs, particularly pickup balance. Go easy on the EQ, start flat, adjust to taste.