1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What Position?

Discussion in 'Ask David Overthrow' started by Breathinstephen, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Breathinstephen

Breathinstephen

Jan 22, 2012
    Hi, Im New to the forums, and new to the bass ( sort of)

At the age of 56 ( after a 40 year break) , I just started playing the bass again ( 4 string electric). I'm not in a band or anything, I just play for the pleasure of playing. I actually played acoustic bass for a couple of years starting in Junior high school and learned to sight read fairly well at that time. It's taken me a few months, but most of what I learned back then is coming back to me and I'm pretty comfortable reading and playing within the first 8 frets.

My question is(and I hope it doesn't sound dumb), but when reading music, does it matter what position on the fret board you play the notes, as long as you hit the correct ones? Should beginners stick to first position and open strings? Are there any rules, or does it just depend on your skill level?

Generally, what I do before even attempting to play a piece of music, is scan over it a few times to see the range of notes and experiment with different positions to see what might be the easiest way to play them .

Playing something in Eb or Ab maj in for example, is tough for me in 1st position because I have small hands, so sometimes I'll play some of those notes or passages higher up on the fret board.

Thanks a million!