1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What qualities make a bass "easy to play"?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Super Iridium, Feb 5, 2016.

1. Super Iridium

Super Iridium Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2013
    I am a new DB player (although I have some background on BG), and my first bass is a beautiful Shen 200 (definitely more instrument than my skills would strictly justify, but so be it).

Anyway, I was playing with a new group of people, and one of the semi-pro DB players came over to check out my bass. He asked if it was a Shen, and when I said yes, he said, "Oh, I love Shens. They're a really good value for the money, and they are really easy to play." I said thank you for the compliment and didn't think much about it.

But since then, I've been trying to figure out for myself--what exactly does it mean when someone says that a particular bass is "easy to play"? I've only played the bass that I own, and it seems to be just as easy or difficult as all other basses. But then I thought that maybe it has something to do with the wood or the shape of the neck or the string length?

Anyway, it seems like people here would know what this comment refers to, and whether it's true that particular brands of bass are known as either easy or difficult to play. Thanks.

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg Supporting Member

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    It means a bass is set up well to play easily with strings at a good height for the player, the fingerboard has a correct amount of relief. Your Shen could also have been set up poorly which would make it harder to play. I have played poorly, IMO, setup Shens. Players often have set ups tweaked to their own preferences. Setups of Shens are often done by the retailers/luthiers in their shops, AFAIK. John Sprague of Shen can comment on that.

Super Iridium and drurb like this.
  3. Super Iridium

Jan 21, 2013