What should a distorted bass sound like?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Special_Ed, Nov 11, 2004.

1. Special_Ed

Oct 3, 2004
    Help. I am a newbie and I am using a Fender bossman 25 watt practice amp. I also have a Ibanez PUE5 tube "thing" (for lack of better words) http://www.accordo.it/upload/ibanezpue5.JPG

I can't seem to get a good sound. Any ideas? When I use distortion it makes my bass sound hollowy, thin and seems to take the "bass" out of my sound. If I crank the bass up all the way and take the trebble out it sounds like im farting if I play the low notes. Any suggestions? Should I get a new peddle made just for bass guitars? What brand?
  2. Well, I'm not a pro on effects, but I know a little bit. I think the problem you are having is basically because the effect you are using is designed for guitar, not for bass guitar. When manufacturers design guitar pedals, they tend to ommit components that are necessary for the effect to respond well to bass - namely larger capacitors. The result when you plug a bass into it is a very hollow sound, with no low end. There is one way to avoid this - buy a box that lets you blend some of your clean, uneffected signal with some of the distorted one. The clean signal will keep your low end.

You could also buy a different effects unit. I don't know of any cheap, good, bass distortions tho. Most of the good ones are a bit pricey.
  3. Should sound like whatever you want it to sound like...
  4. csholtmeier

Feb 8, 2004
    omaha, ne
    Try a Boss ODB-3. This unit has a blend knob that lets you mix the distorted and dry signal. I usually keep it about 50/50, which keeps a good amount of low end in the signal. These units can be had pretty cheaply used, I paid $40 for mine.
  5. That's only really good for heavy distortion though, the overdrive isn't all that great.
  6. Tech 21 Bass Driver DI.
    This little box has so many tone and distortion options, it will make your head spin. Get one. ;)
  7. krazy_olie