1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What should I buy...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Southtowns27, Dec 10, 2018.

1. Southtowns27

Southtowns27

Mar 13, 2015
    Here's the abbreviated story.. Back in high school some 20 odd years ago, I played orchestral bass, as well as upright in our school's 20+ piece swing band. After I graduated I set the bass playing aside. About a year ago, I picked up an upright and set it up for rockabilly slap bass. I've been teaching myself and it's actually not going so bad. I work on ships for a living and spend about 6 months out of the year (not consecutively) bobbing around. I'm thinking I should pick up a cheap-ish short-scale electric bass that could easily travel with me. Yeah, it won't help me learn rockabilly slap, but I can certainly gain experience with my left hand and relearn theory. Since I'm a retro guy, I've been eyeballing hollow bodies. I like the look and the sound. So, what should I be looking at/for? I've seen a few Epiphone EA-260's and 5120's for less than $500, but they all seem a bit haggard.. Do I just spend the extra cash and pick up something like a Gretsch G5442? They seem to go for about $800. Yeah, it's more expensive, but it's new and a whole lot less likely to give me issues... I've also seen some new very inexpensive Chinese "no-name" models that almost look too good to be true. Thoughts? Opinions?

2. Go to guitar center or whatever shop. Get two guitar stands. Play the cheapest bass they have. Then play the next cheapest one, work your way up. Asking yourself "Is Bass B really Xamountofmoney better than Bass A?"

Alternatively, buy the one that looks coolest.