What should I do to improve my practicing productivity?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by FleaisGod, Jun 18, 2000.

1. FleaisGod

FleaisGod Guest

Jun 18, 2000
    Atlanta, GA
    I've been playing bass for about 5 months now, Go to lessons once a week, and am in a band. But when it comes to practicing, I just replay the same few songs or lines that I know over and over again. It's really hard for me to pick out the bass in songs that arent bass-driven, so i can't just listen to a song and start working on it. Does anyone have any suggestions that would make my practicing a bit more productive? Thanks in advance!

- Woody
  2. Don't play stuff you know. That's not practicing. Play along to CDs -- learn tunes you've never done. Buy a book on reading and learn to read. Buy a trombone method book and play through it. Work on your meter. Learn some standards. Learn the heads to "A Train," "Wave," "Satin Doll," "Girl with Emphysema" and other tunes...

good luck.

3. in_exile

Feb 14, 2000
    Go buy guitar magazines with bass lines in them. Once you get your ear then try CD mimic.

<guitar friend's advice> If you want to write, don't concentrate on what you're playing. Get really into a movie at home and play bass. Or read a book and play.</guitar friend's advice>

4. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    One great way to make better use of your practice time is to record yourself and then listen to it. That way you can focus on performing and leave the self-criticism for later.

Will C. [​IMG]

I'm not a genius. I'm just a hard working guy.

5. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Practice with a metronome, drum machine or keyboard percussion and drum presets. Devise a chord progression and play along to the metronome or drum machine, following your chord progression. A twelve bar blues chord progression is an excellent frame work for such a drill.