1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

what should I do to try and make it as a bassist?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DeeDeeEntwistle, Jul 7, 2010.

1. hey guys, Ive been playing bass since i was 7 years old (im 22 now). I want to make it as a bassist no matter what the cost. I've played in a band over the last 3 years and have made some regional success but i really want to get into anything else possible too, rather it be session playing, being a hired gun or giving lessons.

i've lost my job, girlfriend and countless other things over wanting to play for a living but i cannot get any other goal in my head but this..... even before i played when i was really young watching my dad in bands i knew i had to do this, theres nothing else for me.

my sight reading isn't great but im working on it everyday. my ear and chops are my strong point i can usually pick up and play along with somebody in a few seconds-minutes.

im basically asking what is it i should do to get myself moving in this direction? any input would be great.

thanks.
    -Terry

2. Broadbent

Broadbent

Mar 28, 2007
    I thought the same way you did when I was 18. I got into music university and I was going to be be a bass player full time. Full time means just that. I spent dozens of sleepless nights studying and learning. I'd schedule my whole day from 6am-11pm with music. Plus however many extra hours my homework took. I'd have lessons, classes and homework like lifting solo's, memorizing tunes and even music history. I'd also spend 3 hours of the day just listening to music I've never heard before, trying to digest as much music as possible.