1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What should I get first?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by FunkySpoo, Nov 5, 2010.

1. FunkySpoo

FunkySpoo Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2002
    I'm totally new to effects. I'm not one of the "purest" types. I've just never felt like I needed an effect. But after listening to a bunch of sound clips I'm interested in getting something. If you were in my boat what would you get first. Are there "gotta haves"? Maybe an overdrive or a fuzzy distortion thing? Are they the same thing?. See how little I know. :(
    Help an effectless bassist out. :bassist:

2. giacomini

giacomini

Dec 14, 2008
    Florianopolis - Brazil
    Endorsing: Copetti Guitars
    Yeah, maybe dirt is the answer for a 1st pedal. 0.02

3. Yeah a dirt pedal and a delay pedal. I would first start off with a good bass + good amp + good cab. Everything else comes second.

4. FunkySpoo

Feb 6, 2002
    I think I got that covered. 20th anniversary SR5. Demeter VTBP-201s into a QSC PLX 1602 into a Bergantino NV215.

When you guys say DIRT, do you all mean distortion?

5. kenstee

kenstee

Oct 9, 2009