Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What should I get?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ElCahol, Oct 27, 2003.

1. ElCahol

ElCahol

Oct 27, 2003
    Albuquerque NM
    Hola all! I am new to the bass world and was curious what sorts of recommendations you all would have as far as what type of amp and effects set-up I should acquire. I like playing metal (not the commercial stuff you hear on the radio, but the hard stuff). I already have guys that are asking me to play with them, and would like a set-up that I could gig with. Of course, cost is a factor too. So....... All input is appreciated. BTW, I have a LH Warlock bass if that matters. Thanks, Derek

2. What kind of budget are you looking at? Any idea of what size of gigs? You won't need anything really fancy, especially if you are just starting.

3. ElCahol

ElCahol

Oct 27, 2003
    Albuquerque NM
    As far as budget goes, I would like to stay around $500. I can spend as much as $1000. I think we will be playing some local bars here in Albuquerque. Nothing real big. I am not planning on being the next Billy Sheehan, I just enjoy music and have played something all my life (trumpet, piano, tuba and a little guitar). So.... Is there some sort of "formula" for figuring how big an amp one will need?
    thanks-Derek

4. Well, you can run anything through a system, I've played at battles just in halls where some bands have a 25 watt bass amp that can be heard fine, but whats the fun in that? Do you have some idea of what you want? like a head and cab, or combo? check out www.musiciansfriend.com