1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What should I mod in my '96 MIM Jbass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cjsolis, Jul 19, 2012.

1. cjsolis

cjsolis

Feb 28, 2012
    I have a 1996 MIM jazz bass (the only bass I have ever owned, and the best one I have ever seen-I live in a small town) and I've got some extra money and a new band and I'd love to do some modding on it. Problem is, I really don't know any bassists in real life, and as every other bass I've ever seen has been a squier or worse, and I have no experience with this sort of thing. So, I'm asking you guys a few questions:

1. I already had my truss rod fixed, should I expect any future issues?
    2. What kind of pickups should I be looking at to replace mine?
    3. What things (Other than the pickups) should I be looking at upgrading?
    4. What other work should I get done (like a fret job... I have no idea what that is)?
    5. Is there anything else important I should know about before I do this?
    6. I assume this question has already been asked, is there another thread or website you could direct me to?

I've been playing for 4 years now. It's weird to realize how little I really know.:help:

2. PBnJBassist

PBnJBassist

Mar 8, 2011
    Dallas, TX
    1. I already had my truss rod fixed, should I expect any future issues? Only if you're changing to a heavier gauge with more tension than what your bass is used to.

2. What kind of pickups should I be looking at to replace mine? Depends on what sound you need (for the band) / like (for yourself). If the current sound is fine for the band/live setting, then you don't need to change a thing (for now).