What Should I Pair with my Avatar 210?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by HeyyyyyJoe, Apr 29, 2012.

1. 210

28 vote(s)
    56.0%
  2. 212

12 vote(s)
    24.0%
  3. TB153

10 vote(s)
    20.0%
  1. HeyyyyyJoe

HeyyyyyJoe Yahtzeeee

Nov 13, 2007
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hey guys, so I've been using a Avatar 210 8Ohm cab with a GK700RBII for the past two years. I'm looking to expand, and I'm looking for advice on what I should get. Should I go with another 210, move up to a 212, or go with the TB153? Basically I would like versatility, right now I'm playing with a solo artist who I'd compare him to Jack Johnson. I want that deep bass but I don't want to lose definition. Also would like to ability to change tones if I find another project. Any advice? Thanks!

2. rmars

rmars

Jan 2, 2004
    Bettendorf, Ia
    The only thing to match up the B210 with is another B210 or a 4ohm B410, but your head won't go below 4 ohms.

The 212 probably wouldn't be horrible but I wouldn't do it. I would think you would have them cancel each other out a bit and I think the mid voice of that 212 might overwhelm the 210.

And last but not least; I know Avatar says you can do it, I know there are a few TB'ers that do it but the 210 with the TB153 combo is absolutely awful. I have a B210 and a TB153 and in no way shape or form do those cabs work well together. If you eq the TB153 for optimal performance you will blow you B210 at louder volues, it just can't take the lows the 153 can. At lower volumes they cancel each other out so bad it's about half as loud as one cab or the other. You nether have the low mid punch, and upper mid grit the 210 does so well or the amazing low end and mid clarity of the TB153.

The 210 is way more efficient cab and can hit a decent volume with little power. The TB153 takes more juice and eq to get it going but it's an absolute beast, it's just to much for the 210 when it's properly eq'd and powered.