Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What should my first amp be?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jherzog, Aug 17, 2004.

1. jherzog

jherzog

Aug 16, 2004
    I am a complete beginner on a very restricted budget. I am looking for an amp to go with the Yamaha RBX270 (suggested to me in a different topic). I would like to spend as absolutely little as possible without buying something so poor that it hinders my learning or joy or playing.

Do you have any suggestions of what kind, how powerful, what size speaker, and how much $$ I should spend on an amp?

I will be playing this in my apartment and if I stick with it and improve I would be willing to buy better equipment in a few years.

Thanks for any suggestions.

2. Dan Molina

Dan Molina TalkBass Secular Progressive

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
    The question isn't how much money to spend but how much money do you have to spend?

3. jherzog

jherzog

Aug 16, 2004
    Okay, I was considering $100. I was hoping someone would tell me that I can get a good amp for my purposes for less. I could spend more but man I shouldn't. So far all I have looked at is the 10in. Washburn amp.

Hence why I was leaving my question open ended

4. i can't suggest this more....save up a lil bit more money...you can get a used SWR working man 15 for about 350 bucks...and that is an amp that will last you through beginning playiing to gigging small/medium venues...it sounds great and for the price is EXTREMELY reliable

but that's just my opinion...find something that you'll be happy with :)

you can probly get the Workingman 10 or 12 for the 200-250 range and you'll probly be a lot happier with one of those over the cheap washburn amps...

5. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    I agree with saving up a bit until you can get a better quality amp.