1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What Size Amp Do I Need?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Wildman83, Jul 29, 2012.

1. Wildman83

Wildman83

Jul 29, 2012
    I am building a Dual 15" Sub Box and do not know what size amp I need to power to 15 inch subs. The Subs are coming out of MXT 115 Pro Loud Speakers. Newbie here..just getting started. This is will be for live Sound.

thanks Guys

2. Did you get the T/S parms to build a proper sized and tuned box? What are the power handling specs of the speakers? If the box doesn't match to the speaker's needs the two may only handle a 100 watt amp at low frequencies.

3. Wildman83

Wildman83

Jul 29, 2012
    See this is how pathetically new I am...I dont know anything about it. I am planning on following a pre maid plan for a dual 15 sub box.......So lets just say I get everything right on the box....the How do I know what size amp I need to run the Subs

4. Wildman83

Wildman83

Jul 29, 2012
    4/8 OHMS IMPED

60 H2-21 KH2 FREQ. RESP.

200 WATTS RMS

400 WATTS PEAK POWER

Here are the speakers info....I am just going to use the subs though

thanks

5. As subs I would not run more than 300 watts RMS into the two (well matched cab to speakers). Low end eats the power handling of speakers REAL fast, faster if the box is not a match for the speakers. 200 watts "thermal" handling is not very good for a 15" to be used as a sub.

6. Wildman83

Wildman83

Jul 29, 2012
    So your saying....no more than 300 watt amp to run the subs...What is RMS...and what are you talking about thermal handling...Sorry man..seriously Learning...everything as I go....Do u mean to 15's arent a good idea as a sub...or what