Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What speaker brand??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jazzanova, Oct 24, 2004.

1. Jazzanova

Jazzanova

Oct 4, 2004
    Sweden
    Hi!

I have an old SUNN 215s. Today for the fist time I took out the speakers out of it to se the brand of them. They where JES loudspeakers rating 200W peak 400W each. But my question is, do any body knows any thing of the JES brand? Are they the original speakers for my SUNN 215s? Are they good quality speakers?

2. If I remember corectly, my old Sunn 215 had CTS speakers in them and they were the original speakers. I'm not familar with the JES brand (but I'm not an expert on old speakers and I didn't sleep at a Holiday Inn express last night). There was an unofficial Sunn website dedicated to the old Sunn products, but I don't have their current URL. If they're still around, they had a forum that might help yu.

For what it's worth: after 30 years, my speakers were pretty flabby. I replaced them with JBL's and the cabinet sounds GREAT!! This is one well built cab. If nothing else, have your drivers reconed at Weber for something like $65 each. http://www.webervst.com/recone

3. Jazzanova

Jazzanova

Oct 4, 2004
    Sweden
    ok thx. Maby I'll do that. But it's expensive to send the speakers to US from Sweden. So maby buying a pair of new ones is better.

4. Jazzanova

Jazzanova

Oct 4, 2004
    Sweden
    I looked up the weber vst page now, they have a California 15 Bass speaker that sounds nice. Only 80W each but I use a Orange at 120W so a 160W cab is not a danger. Have any one tried a Weber bass speaker?

5. Sorry, didn't notice you were in Sweden.

I personally would put something in there that could handle more than 80 watts per speaker....

6. Jazzanova

Jazzanova

Oct 4, 2004
    Sweden
  7. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA