Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What speaker should i get?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by azsfcsh, Jun 11, 2005.

1. azsfcsh

azsfcsh

May 31, 2005
    Gilbert Arizona
    Well, i have an Ampeg BA115 that i plan on taking apart so i can get a 15" speaker that will be able to run with my SWR Workingman's 4004 head. The head is 400watts at 4ohms and 260watts at 8ohms. Im not that good with speakers but what kind of speaker should i put in there so i can play it with that head? BTW i also have a 4x10" on the first jack on the head so the second cab will be going into the second jack. For the speaker on the Ampeg(1x15" at 100watts), how much do you think i could get for it, with out selling the the entire cab, just the speaker? I have only used it for like a half of a year, and was only played in my garage at like half power. And the second thing is what speaker should i replace it with, with the specifications above, for around $100-150?

2. Masher88

Masher88 Believe in absurdities and you commit atrocities

May 7, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    Why are you replacing the speaker in an Ampeg cab? Most cabinet makers design the cabinets around the particular speaker that is in it. If you change out the speaker, you have to be very careful and do a lot of research to match a speaker with the size of the enclosure. If you just throw any speaker into it, more than likely, it'll sound like garbage...very thin and weak (no matter how expensive the speaker you put in it is). You are better off keeping the Ampeg intact and selling it as a complete unit if you are simply tired of it's sound. If the speaker doesn't work anymore, you aren't going to get any kind of cash for it, but if it does work...my recomendations is to leave it in the cabinet. If the speaker is burnt out, I'm sure you can get replacement drivers from Ampeg.