1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What specs do tube amp transformers need?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Balog, Jun 8, 2011.

1. Balog

Balog

Mar 19, 2009
    Mukilteo, WA
    Idle thought as I was looking at the various DIY tube amp kits. It seems like the most expensive part of the average tube amp (especially the large >100 watt units) is the transformers. I'm a building engineer by trade so I have access to both a lot of scrap industrial transformers as well as industrial supply places that can order/make whatever I want for relatively cheap. However, I only work on AC line voltage and modern lighting and hvac fixtures, so the intricacies of tube amplification is still a foreign world to me.

Obviously the exact specs vary depending on how many of what kind of tubes you are running, but I'm hoping for a set of guidelines to get started on.

2. BbbyBld

BbbyBld

Oct 13, 2005
    Meridian, MS
    Do you want to know how to specify a custom transformer or do you want to know what to look for in salvaged transformers?

3. look on valve datasheets, they'll tell you what voltages and current you'll need. They'll also list the ideal impedances for O/T's

4. Hi.

Basically, a fixed frequency transformer and a variable frequency transformer share only the basic construction, and neither can be used very well in the other application.

If You don't mind the hysteresis losses and other anomalies, normal transformer lamination materials can be used for audio transformers. Be that EI, C or toroid.

There's plenty of books written on the AF transformers, their design and construction, some can be found on-line, some are "book-only".

This is a good page to start from if tube amp/AF transformer design interests You:

Technical books online

Regards
    Sam