What Strings do you suggest....

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by JustStartin, Jun 20, 2003.

1. I just started playing the bass about a year ago. I have a Yamaha RBX170 and it came with its own strings. I heard that after a couple of months you should change the stings. What strings should i go and buy?..Thanx for all the help.
  2. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    Might want to help narrow it down by what your ideal sound is.
  3. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    ...also, lighter guage strings are easier on the fingers (easier to play) but sound thinner, heavier strings are harder on the fingers, but have more bottome. basses usually come equipped with medium strings.

choice of brands are a really personal thing as EVERYONE plays differently, sweats differently, prefers different sounds. more expensive doesn't necesarrily mean better also. some of the more common strings are:

Ernie Ball
    ken smith

there are lots more. you really need to try a lot of different ones and see which appeal to you most.

lastly, but not leastly - you can get round wound (what most rock and rollers use), flat wound (less bright sound), or half rounds (a bit of both).

i think that's the basics for choosing strings. if you're more specific now about your question people will be better able to help you.

also, if you want to be really unique, buy nylon strings. they're REALLY easy on the fingers and fun to play. kind of thumpy but I like em. hard to find - fender makes some and they can be bought at juststrings.com.
  4. Obsolex

Obsolex Guest

Nov 17, 2002
    Ernie Ball has always been a good set for me... Super Slinky (5) are really good, and I hear the Stainless Steel ones are awsome too...