1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What the Bleep Do We Know!? - movie review

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Dave Grossman, Apr 29, 2006.

1. I don't like reviewing things. Occasionally, I'll write a positive review of something I like but I rarely write a review of anything I dislike. I guess I never found anything I disliked so much that I felt compelled to review it. I understand that experience is subjective and that just because I liked something doesn't mean it's good and just because I didn't like something doesn't mean it's bad.

Well, then I bought a copy of "What the Bleep Do We Know!?", a movie I had been hearing about for a couple of years that was presented to me as a movie-like documentary that explains Quantum Physics in a way that can be understood by the masses.

This movie started out with a little promise. However, it quickly went downhill when I realized that they were completely full of crap. They pick and choose a few bits of Quauntum Mechanics and then pervert them to fit into their cult-like view of the universe.

I guess "cult-like" is not an accurate term. This is a full-blown cult we're talking about here. This movie was created by three members of Ramtha's School of Enlightenment. But don't take their word for it, we get the pleasure of hearing from Ramtha himself ... er, as channeled through some middle-aged woman who happens to be the leader of the cult. Ramtha, being a 35,000 year old Lemurian warrior.

Strewn through the film are interviews with various people who purport to be experts in their field. A few of them make some sense here and there but most of what they say is utter nonsense. To be fair, one of the people they interviewed has since renounced his contribution to the film as being edited to support their views.