1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

what to buy for first half stack?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 60jbass91, Apr 24, 2010.

1. 60jbass91

60jbass91

Apr 24, 2010
    UK
    Hi
    i have been playing for quite a few years in a successful local band. I currently play a 60's Fender reissue J bass through a Ashdown mag 300 1x15 combo and have finally decided to upgrade to a half stack.
    At the moment i have my heart set on an ampeg SVT VR reissue with an ampeg B-410 HLF with the idea that if i needed to in the future i could buy a 115 e to extend it to a full stack. But im not totally 100% on whether or not this is the right choice.
    i enjoy playing a wide range of music such as kings of leon and the smiths right the way through to stevie ray vaughan and jaco pastorius. I must say im really getting in to the whole jazz thing alot recently so i would love something that would be versatile enough for me to play that much. I really like a raw punchy sound with plenty of mid and a touch of rumble but with a shimmering high because i do use alot of the fret board. i know this sounds like alot to ask for. So i would just like to put this question out to some of you more experienced guys to see if you could share some of your knowledge and help me to make my mind up on what to spend my hard earned cash on.
    Thanks

2. Broadbent

Broadbent

Mar 28, 2007
    Sounds like a good rig to me! You've got my approval, the only thing I would suggest is to get the silver clothe on your cab to match the head. that way you look supa fly when your playing.

3. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147