Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by travatron4000, Dec 27, 2000.

1. travatron4000

Dec 27, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    I'm 17. I've been playing electric bass for 6 years. I've been playing double bass for 2. Let me tell you the story. I got an electric bass in 6th grade because my friend got a guitar and wanted some one to jam with. I played on my own for 3 years. Finished my begining bass book in 3 months and kept learning songs out of guitar mags and playing by ear. In 9th grade my friend who played percusion in the band wanted me to play bass in the newely forming jazz band in which he was playing drums. The jazz band was extracuricular and after a year the director asked me to join the marching/concert band. In 10th grade I signed up for band and played electric bass in the marching band for football season and when january came the school pruchased a double bass and I've been playing that in the concert and jazz bands ever since. Now I'm a seinor and plan on studing music in college. Now there's a problem. I need to purchase my own double bass. It's not as simple as running to the store and getting one either. I live in Standish MI. It's a 30min drive to the nearest music shop.
    The only one that caries basses only caries 2 Engelhart models, one is 3/4 the other is 1/2, and their prices are rather high. Now what I would like to do is Purchase a bass via mail order or possibly online auction. The only hitch is I don't know squat about double bass manufacturers and distributers. Electric bass is no problem. Anyway, my question is what specifically should I get. Please post or e-mail me with any brands and/or models and/or dealers I should seriously consider. And I'm olnly looking to spend up to $1500.

2. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY