1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What to do about my bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by ABlueJazzBassist, Oct 31, 2013.

1. ABlueJazzBassist

ABlueJazzBassist "Always play beautifully."

Dec 26, 2012
    Hey talkbass, its been a while but I could really use your help, as I'm in a tough situation. I'm a relatively new bassist and I bought my first bass over this last summer.

Anyways, it was a tricky situation. Basically I bought the instrument through a company other than the manufacturer. It was/is a year old, and had had some severe neck damage which a luthier had done a good, or so I'm told, job repairing the issue. The instrument was supposed to be fully carved and made in Germany. It cost me $3500. I didn't get to see the instrument at the time of purchase. It was told however all the information you see above.

I was shipped the instrument and had a few days grace to accept or reject it, and I accepted it.

Fast forward a few months into the future. The neck has a slight crack at the base of it, so I take it to the luthier. I'm a freshman jazz bassist at UNT. He says he can't tell wether it's really an issue or just a disfiguration. Anyways, we're sitting around talking about the bass and discussing what it is, and to my surprise, he tells me its not carved. I lacked the experience to tell myself.

So I call the guys I bought it from, and they say the word carved is a typo, that they meant crafted. However, if its a typo, its a typo in bold at the top of their homepage that they have now fixed.

Should I pursue a refund, since they basically didn't give me what I payed for? Or should I keep the instrument. My luthier says its worth about as much as I paid for even though its not what I was told it is. But the neck damage will make it hard to sell.

I will be willing to share any information requested. I really need help. This is tough.