1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What to do when no teacher is available?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Mikey3, Oct 3, 2009.

1. Mikey3

Mikey3

Aug 8, 2007
    Michigan
    I have been wanting to learn DB for quite some time now, I contacted the local conservatory, and local symphony to try and find a teacher. The problem is that there are none in our city. There are two bass players, both self taught, and none of which can teach from what I have been told by them. The next closest city is 3 hours away, and we are about 5 hrs drive from anywhere major that would have a bass teacher. So, I want to learn but my options are a little down. I really want lessons to learn properly, but not really sure where I can start. I have picked up simandl book 1, and ray browns bass method to try and help me along the way, as well as trying to look at some videos online. However, I was curious if there was anywhere where I could take some online lessons via a webcam so I could have that 1 on 1 with the teacher or something similar as an alternative to having one?

Any other suggestions?
    Thanks

2. wayne holmes

wayne holmes Banned

Nov 12, 2008
    Milan, TN
    Proprietor, Holmes Bass Viol Shop
    You should be able to find a teacher who would be willing to give you a long lesson once a month. It is not uncommon to have to go a distance for lessons.

3. Keep searching for a teacher. I started learning the upright 6 years ago and had/have the same situation with a lack of upright bass teachers in my area. I found Rufus Reid's book and video, "The Evolving Bassist", to be quite helpful. Good luck!

4. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    What city do you live in? Fill out your profile. Guys here might be able to help.